Famous for its delicious fried chicken and Creole-inspired dishes, Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen offers a menu that suits a wide variety of palates and dietary requirements. They provide a variety of gluten free menu items that are both flavorful and safe for customers to eat. In order to make sure you can enjoy the strong, zesty flavors while still following your dietary restrictions, we encourage you to delve into the world of Popeyes and investigate the gluten-free options available in this article. Although the famous fast food is best known for its famous fried chicken, the restaurant also offers sides and menu items that are either naturally gluten-free or can be made to fit into a gluten-free diet. We’ll lead you through the gluten-free options so you can savor the rich and spicy dishes that Popeyes is known for, like seasoned rice and delicious red beans and rice.
Because gluten is often associated with carbs since bread and pasta contain gluten, rice is often mistakenly seen as a menu item those with gluten sensitivities can’t enjoy. Luckily, all forms of rice are gluten-free. Popeye’s Cajun Rice, otherwise known as “dirty rice” given its meat-tinted color, is a gluten-free side dish at Popeyes that’s full of savory flavor. It includes long-grain rice and gets most of its flavor from the ground beef, chicken gizzards, onions, and bell peppers they cook with it. If you can’t have Popeye’s fried chicken because of the gluten in the breading, I recommend this rice! It’s got a great meaty flavor that’ll fill you up and satisfy your cravings for fried chicken.
Popeye’s Cole Slaw is a popular, fresh-tasting menu item to order alongside Popeye’s greasy and delectable fried chicken. However, it is a great snack on its own. Although it includes mayonnaise, it is still much lighter and gut-friendly than many other Popeyes menu items. It also includes healthy ingredients such as onions, peppers, cabbage, and carrots. While it might not do much to count toward your daily vegetable intake, it’s nothing to feel bad about! Plus, it’s so refreshing between bites of Popeye’s other rich foods.
Corn On the Cob
Like the dirty rice mentioned above and red beans & rice discussed below, Popeye’s corn on the cob is a carb-centered side dish that should sufficiently fill you up and provide some energy and fuel without making you feel sick to your stomach from gluten. The corn itself is not your backyard BBQ grilled corn. It’s not chargrilled or slathered in butter, but it complements the fried chicken at Popeye’s and can add a bit of much-needed sweetness when there are so many other savory side dishes to consider. If you like your corn a bit saltier, ask for extra on the side to add later! If there’s one drawback to this corn, it’s that it could use a bit more seasoning. But, that’s easily remedied!
Red Beans & Rice
Another item on Popeye’s gluten-free menu is their Red Beans & Rice. Including ingredients such as onions, bacon, and garlic, you won’t have to forego flavor with this dish, even if you’re getting rid of gluten! The Red Beans & Rice are smokey, savory, fatty, filling. It’s something that can be ordered as a side or even eaten as a small dinner if you’re not too hungry. I recommend this dish to those looking for quality over quantity in their search for gluten-free menu items. You may get a small portion, but it’s big on flavor.
One of the most unexpected items on Popeye’s gluten-free menu is apple sauce. While it might not seem like much, Popeye’s applesauce is a great snack or additional item to add to a kid’s meal if you have a child with gluten sensitivity. It’s a quick way to add some sweetness to your meal, and with 2g of fiber in each serving, it serves a role in keeping your hunger hormones at bay. I recommend this menu item for people looking for a quick bite to hold them over for an hour or so or as a delicious sweet ending to a more hearty and complete meal.
Some people might not think about beverages when considering a gluten-free diet. Still, in addition to beer – which is perhaps the most apparent offender – some drink mixes, pre-made coffee drinks, and even chocolate milk may contain gluten. It’s essential to understand which drinks gluten-free dieters can have. Most soft drinks do not contain gluten and are safe for those with Celiac disease, gluten intolerance, or gluten sensitivities to consume. Here are all of the soft drinks at Popeye’s that don’t contain any gluten or wheat ingredients.
- Diet Coke
- Diet Pepsi
- Hawaiian Punch
- Orange Juice
- Mountain Dew
- Tea (Unsweetened and Sweet)
- Fanta (Strawberry and Orange)
- Dr. Pepper