in

The Ultimate Guide to a Vegan Diet

A helpful list of foods you didn’t know were vegan.

Veganism has become something of a trend in recent years. Since 2014, there has been a 500% increase in the number of people who follow a vegan diet, and now as many as 6% of US consumers consider themselves to be vegan. However, despite the increased popularity of veganism, this is still something that a lot of people do not know a lot about. 

There are a lot of misconceptions about veganism, with a lot of people under the impression that all vegans only eat fruit and vegetables. But this isn’t the case. A lot of people believe that a vegan diet is a boring diet, but this isn’t true. In fact, there are lots of great snacks which are actually vegan. 

people eating vegan food at a table

In this quick guide, we’ll be dispelling all the myths surrounding veganism, taking a look at what it actually is, and telling you some of the snacks that you never knew were vegan. So, let’s dive right in. 


What is Veganism?

As you probably already know, a vegan diet is a diet that excludes all foods that are derived from animal products. It is essentially one step stricter than a vegetarian diet because not only can vegans not eat meat, but they also cannot eat any products that can be directly linked to animals. 

A lot of people get veganism and vegetarianism confused. Those who follow a vegetarian diet simply will not eat meat products. But those who follow a vegan diet are a lot more restricted. Some of the things that vegans will not eat include milk, cheese, butter, eggs, mayo, cream, ice cream, gelatin, and honey. 

vegan food in a bowl

Due to the long list of things that vegans can’t eat, a lot of people are misled into believing that vegans eat a diet consisting solely of salad and nuts, but this isn’t the case. In fact, there are lots of great, yummy foods which are vegan-friendly. Let’s take a look at some foods you probably didn’t know were vegan. 


10 Foods You Didn’t Know Were Vegan

  1. Skittles
  2. Dark Chocolate
  3. Airheads
  4. Spicy Sweet Chili Doritos
  5. Fritos
  6. Oreos
  7. Sour Patch Kids
  8. Pop-Tarts
  9. Taco Bell Black Bean Crunchwrap Supreme
  10. Swedish Fish

Skittles

bag of skittles being poured out

One of the best treats which are actually vegan is original Skittles. These sweets are packed with sugar and are very popular all over the world. Due to this, a lot of people think that Skittles could never be vegan, but their ingredient list suggests otherwise. 

Dark Chocolate

bowl of dark chocolate next to bowl of cacao beans

If you switch to a vegan diet, you might think that your days of eating chocolate are over. But this doesn’t have to be the case.

Neither milk chocolate and white chocolate are not suitable for vegans because they contain lots of milk, but most dark chocolate is perfectly suitable for vegans. Especially those with a high percentage of cacao. Dark chocolate even goes great with a nice, cold glass of almond milk.

Airheads

blue raspberry airhead

Alternatively, a great chewy sweet that is perfectly okay for vegans is Airheads. These long strips of chewy deliciousness contain absolutely zero foods that are unsuitable for vegans. In fact, they mainly contain sugar, so they are suitable for vegans, but not so suitable for your teeth. 

Spicy Sweet Chili Doritos

variety of doritos on a store shelf

Another type of food that is influenced by a vegan diet is chips. You might simply expect all chips to be suitable for vegans, but this isn’t the case. In fact, a lot of chips are not suitable for vegans. This is the case for most flavors of Doritos, but thankfully their ‘Spicy Sweet Chili’ flavor is safe for vegans to enjoy. 

Fritos

bags of fritos on a store shelf

If you prefer plain chips, then you will be glad to hear that Original Fritos are suitable for vegans. This is because their ingredients list is very small, with just corn oil, corn, and salt used to make them. They might not be the most flavorful snack, but they are incredibly moreish, and you will find yourself constantly reaching for the packet. Time and time again. 

Oreos

oreo cookies

You might be shocked to discover that Oreos are actually suitable for vegans. The flavors of these chocolate and milk treats suggest that they definitely should not be suitable for vegans. But, they actually are because they contain zero dairy products. 

Sour Patch Kids

bags of sour patch kids

Throughout this guide, you might have been surprised by the number of exciting sweets which are actually vegan-friendly. Sour Patch Kids are just another exciting sweet on this list. These sweets are produced without gelatin, but they still taste amazing, so you should get stuck into a packet if you are vegan. 

Pop-Tarts

person holding box of pop tarts

If you are new to a vegan diet, then one of your favorite breakfast dishes might once have been Pop-Tarts. When you become vegan, it is easy to assume that everything you once ate is no longer suitable for you. But this isn’t the case. As long as you choose Pop-Tarts without frosting, then they are perfectly suitable for vegans. 

Taco Bell Black Bean Crunchwrap Supreme

black bean crunchwrap supreme on a cutting board

Eating out is often difficult when you are vegan, especially if you are visiting a fast-food restaurant. Thankfully, Taco Bell offers lots of delicious vegan options, including their ‘Black Bean CrunchWrap Supreme’. So, if you are vegan, this is a dish that you should definitely try. 

Swedish Fish

swedish fish

Finally, you will be relieved to hear that the delicious gummy treats known as Swedish Fish are also suitable for vegans. Just like Sour Patch Kids, they exclude gelatin from their recipe, making them completely safe for vegans to enjoy. 


Final Thoughts

In short, as you can see, there are lots of exciting treats that you can enjoy as a vegan. So, don’t let yourself be misled by common misconceptions. A vegan diet might be a stricter one, but it is by no means a boring one. You can even enjoy sushi while maintaining a totally vegan diet!

What’s your favorite vegan dish? Let us know in the comments down below so we can check it out!

This page may contain affiliate links. If you click through and make a purchase, we'll earn a small commission, at no additional cost to you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Written by Rocco Smith

Rocco is from Sanibel Island, Florida, and a recent graduate of Florida State University with a Bachelor’s in Editing, Writing, and Media. With seven years’ experience in the restaurant industry as a cook, server, bartender, and more, he is deeply passionate about intertwining his fondness for food with his love of language.